GoogleCustom Search

World stars set to battle at TT06 - January 20th 2006

News Archives | WSB Results | British Superbike Results | MotoGP Results |

    With everything in place to ensure a safe and successful TT fortnight, attention can be switched to the outstanding entry list. Without doubt the overall entry for the 2006 TT Races will be the strongest ever to have been assembled, with 11 previous winners, two former World Champions and top riders from British Superbike, AMA Superbike and Irish Road Racing.

    Heading the solo entry will be outright lap record holder and eight-time previous winner John McGuinness riding for the factory HM Plant Honda team. Joining John on Honda machinery will be Dubliner, Martin Finnegan, who will be in action for World Superbike team Klaffi Honda. Also Honda mounted will be seven- time winner, Ian Lougher, who will ride for Paul Bird's Stobart Honda British Superbike team.

    Ulster- based TAS Suzuki, who contest the British Supersport Championship, will represent Suzuki. Armed with factory Superbike machines, they will be looking for success with four-time winner Bruce Anstey, and two-time winner Ryan Farquhar.

    Yamaha will be represented by three more of the most talented TT racers. Guy Martin will ride for AIM Racing - winners of both Superbike races in 2005, Jason Griffiths will ride for Yamaha UK and three-time former winner, Adrian Archibald, will ride for Irish team, Team Racing.

    Kawasaki returns to the TT supporting Irish outfit, McAdoo Racing. Having already won a TT with previous rider Ryan Farquhar in 2004, McAdoo are back looking for further success with the highly rated Yorkshireman, Ian Hutchinson.

    The 2006 TT will also play host to many other top road racing teams and riders. Uel Duncan Racing will bring back two of the most successful 2005 TT newcomers, Scotland's Les Shand and Australian Cameron Donald. Fresh from Manx Grand Prix success, Seamus Greene will again ride for the Martin Bullock Raceteam. More riders chasing success are CD Racing's Rob Frost, JD's Raymond Porter, John Donnan, and Ken Doherty, and DMRR's Davy Morgan and Keith Stewart. The quality entry list continues with many top privateers such as Jun Maeda, Nigel Beattie, Chris Palmer, Chris Heath, Mark Parrett, Gary Carswell, Paul Hunt and Ian Armstrong.

    There will also be a whole host of newcomers who will be out to emulate the achievements of their predecessors of twelve months ago. Heading the list is AMA road racing star Mark Miller from California. Mark has been a regular top-ten finisher in AMA Superbike, Superstock and Formula Xtreme for the past decade and has previously beaten none other than TT record holder John McGuinness around the Macau GP Street Circuit.

    2006 will also see the welcome return of the Dunlop name to the TT. Twenty-year-old William Dunlop, son of Robert and nephew of the late great Joey, is taking up the TT challenge. William is Ireland's most promising young rider having already beaten many of the best.

    Scottish rider Mark Buckley takes up the TT challenge in 2006 having already enjoyed success in the North West 200 and Ulster Grand Prix. Mark is the protégé of TT legend Ian Lougher and will ride in a team managed by Ian in the colours of Blackhorse Motorcycle Finance.

    Cheshire's Tim Poole also makes his TT debut in 2006. Tim has already established himself as a fast and consistent road racer, taking wins at the Southern 100 - also held on the Isle of Man.

    Dave Molyneux heads the sidecar entry in the colours of the official HM Plant Honda squad. The 11-time winner will face fellow locals and race winners, Nick Crowe and Darren Hope. Steve Norbury and Scott Parnell, Simon Neary and Stuart Bond, John Holden and John Winn, and Roy Hanks and Dave Wells will be amongst the other leading crews looking to do battle for a place on the rostrum.

    In their third year at the TT, former World Champions Klaus Klaffenbock and Christian Parzer will be out to score their first podium finish with an all-new prototype LCR Honda machine.

    The final word was left to Chairman of the TT Co-ordinating Committee David Cretney MHK: "I am delighted with the progress being made ahead of TT 2006. Everything is in place to make it one of the best in recent history, with a superb entry, and significant improvements being made at all levels of the event, most notably with regards to safety. As we build up to our centenary event, the TT is in a strong position as a world renowned motorsport event, and with the significant investment being made into the events infrastructure, we can look forward to a long and successful future for the Isle of Man TT, well past TT 2007."

    TT 2006 is set to be one of the best ever, and with further exciting announcements to come, it is one race not to be missed!