GoogleCustom Search

Bultaco Classic Motorcycles

Bultaco was founded in 1958 near Barcelona in Spain by Francisco Bulto after splitting from Montesa, which he had co-founded, due to the firm's reluctance to go racing. Bultaco had a reputation for competition bikes. the Bultaco factory was closed December 22, 1979 after a long strike.

The new firm built a series of rapid small-capacity two-stroke racers through the 1960s and had many high finishes in Grands Prix. Roadsters included the rapid 250cc Metralla, which had a claimed top speed of more than 100mph (160kph). Bultaco also specialised in off-road bikes. Sammy Miller's win on a Sherpa in the 1965 Scottish Six Days Trial heralded the two-stroke's takeover in trials. After the trials world championship was started in 1975, Bultaco won five years in a row. I road racing, Angel Nieto and Ricardo Tormo won a total of four 50cc world titles in the years up to 1981.

Although the factory did re-open, it was eventually merged with Montesa and Ossa, but in the end only Montesa survived.

Bike Image Description
1965 Bultaco TSS250 1965 Bultaco TSS250 air-cooled.
1966 Bultaco Metralla 62, 196cc 1966 Bultaco Metralla 62, 196cc
1966 Bultaco Mertalla Bultaco Metralla 250cc
1966 Bultaco Model 35 1966 Bultaco Metralla 62, 196cc  
1967 Bultaco Matador MKII 1967 Bultaco Matador MKII 250cc.
1968 Bultaco TSS 125 1968 Bultaco TSS 125 The engine in this bike was built and raced by Alec Campbell in the late 1960's. Campbell was a regular at the Isle of Man TT throughout the 1960's and sadly died after a race at Thruxton in 1970.

His unique self built disk valve engine ended up in Murrays Museum on the Isle of Man, as a static display in the "special engines" section. The engine itself is based on a 6 speed, gear driven TSS unit, utilising the gearbox, modified clutch and primary drive and modified TSS crank, and TSS piston, so it is still useable today.

The rolling chassis is a genuine TSS 125 and was produced in April 1968 (frame # 700610). The frame had been modifed to accept a Yamaha engine, and was subsequently modified back to fit the Campbell engine.

1969 Bultaco Metralla 250cc 1969 Bultaco Metralla 250cc
1970 Bultaco 250 Sherpa 1970 Bultaco 250 Sherpa The Sherpa, thanks to Sammy Millers input, revolutionised trials, providining riders with a lightweight machine with good power characteristics and excellent handling. The earliest machines featured a radial finned head and four speed gearbox, which was replaced during 1967 with the five speed "San Antonio" engine and a new frame was introduced with the third major revision in 1968 followed by the introduction of the "Kit Campeon" - a combined seat and tank unit that facilitated easier movement on the bike at the end of the sixties, initially as a retrospective upgrade but eventually as standard fitment on the Model 80.
1971 Bultaco Sherpa S 200 1971 Bultaco Sherpa S 200
1971 Bultaco Pursang Mk4 1971 Bultaco Pursang Mk4 250cc.
1971 Bultaco Sherpa M80, 250cc 1971 Bultaco Sherpa M80, 250cc
1972 Bultaco Motocross, 250cc 1972 Bultaco Motocross, 250cc
1973 Bultaco Pursang Bultaco Pursang  
1973 Bultaco Alpina 1973 Bultaco Alpina 250 250c. The Alpina resulted from the growing interest in trail riding as a pastime in the States. Bultaco realised that many of their Sherpa trials models were being used as trail bikes and sought to offer a machine that was better suited to the task. Based on the Sherpa the Alpina quickly established itself as an excellent trail bike which could provide its owner with a competitive enduro mount as well.
1975 Bultaco Alpina M-138 Bultaco Alpina M-138  
1974 Bultaco Alpine Bultaco 360 Alpine 360cc
1974 Bultaco Aplina 1974 Bultaco Aplina  
1975 Bultaco Sherpa T 350 model 159 1975 Bultaco Sherpa T 350 model 159
1976 Bultaco Sherpa Trials
Bultaco Sherpa Trials

1975 saw Martin Lampkin winning his first Trial World Championship with Bultaco in the face of stiff competition from Ossa and Montesa. Despite this success, Bultaco presented a completely revised version of the Sherpa trials model in both 250 and 350 forms. The new models reverted to a separate fuel tank, seat and side panels/ air box and adopted new frames which differed between the two capacities, the 238cc Model 158 having a 25mm shorter wheelbase.

Image provided by

1977 Bultaco Pursang 1977 Bultaco Pursang 125cc, 6-speed.
1977 Bultaco 370 Pursang, 250cc 1977 Bultaco 370 Pursang, 250cc
1978 Bultaco Pursang MkII 1978 Bultaco Pursang MkII 250cc.
1978 Bultaco Streaker 1978 Bultaco Streaker
1979 Bultaco Streaker Bultaco 125cc
1981 Bultaco Fontera Enduro Bultaco Fontera Enduro  

Please e-mail the webmaster if you have a picture worth adding to our database, e-mail: